Weigh Loss Journey – The Why

I’ve come to the conclusion that you cannot lose weight and keep it off for anyone but you.  Some people lose it out of vanity, but eventually a piece of them gives up and says “screw vanity, I’m eating a whole pizza today.”  That is me.  It wasn’t until recently that I truly decided that this is what I’m going to do, and this is why I’m going to do it.  I want to make life easier on my body.  This is the only body I’m going to get, unless science fiction becomes reality in my lifetime, so I’m not going to rely on that.  I want to make life easy on my heart, my joints and my back.  I haven’t had any weight related health issues yet, and I want to prevent them from ever happening to me.  I want to be faster on the soccer field and not feel like throwing up after a few good runs.  I want to be able to ride my bike up a hill… in general… and not get winded when I do.  I want to be strong.  I want to be fit and athletic.

I have been struggling with my weight since I was in my late teens.  I’m a pretty similar story to every other story, so I won’t write it all.  I’ve been up and down for years.  I had registered for Weight Watchers online when I was in my early 20’s, but continuously fell off the wagon.  When I was in my late 20’s I thought to myself “I need to do this.  I’m going to lose this weight for good”, so I started going to meetings.  I lost 30 pounds.  It wasn’t easy (if anyone ever tells you that losing weight is easy, they are very lucky), but the program is DEFINITLY not hard either.  It’s the easiest, healthiest way of losing weight that I have ever found.  I think the meetings helped me because someone else was weighing me so I was accountable to someone else, and I got new ideas and I also knew I wasn’t in it alone.

I had some changes in my life, and fell off the wagon and stopped going.  Over the next 3 years or so, the weight piled on again.  I’m an active person, and fitness is a big part of my life, but you wouldn’t know it from the way I looked.  A few months ago, I decided “it’s time to go to Weight Watchers meetings.”  I signed up for 6 months, and I hope to get as close to my goal as possible before then.  So here is where I’m headed.  I’m sure that many of you have dealt with what I’ve gone through, and a going through.  I hope we can help each other to stay on the wagon, and continue fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

