Why I’m Decluttering

I think when you are decluttering, you need to remind yourself of why you are decluttering.  It’s most likely like everything else; you have to decide that you’re doing it for you and your family’s own welfare.  When I decided that it was time to lose weight, and was successful with it, it wasn’t to impress other people; it was for my own future health, and to make life easier on my joints.  Sure, feeling better about the way I look is a bonus; however, it is a drive that has never worked for me.

When it comes to decluttering, there are ways around it if you want to appear to the blind eye that you are organized with a lack of clutter.  You can stuff every drawer and closet full of stuff when people come over, feel wonderful for a few hours, or possibly days, but you know that under the surface, there is a bunch of stuff waiting for you to deal with.  You can box it up, store it and organize it all you want, but it’s still there.  I’m at a point in my life where I feel it’s time to get my “stuff” together and move forward.  I feel like I’m moving through this world with too much weight, and it’s time to let it go.

I’ve suffered with anxiety since I was a child.  It got worse as I grew older, and part of me wonders if it is attached to the clutter I keep around me.  My room at parents’ house, and my house after I left was like my body, it really wasn’t that bad, and I kept it up and tidy and for the most part organized, but I just wasn’t ready to cut the excess to achieve a sustainable, healthy way of living.

I’ve been reading a lot of books on decluttering, minimalism and simple living these past few months.  I feel like I’m ready to truly clean up and organize what remains in my space.  I’m ready to rid myself of things that I have purchased to make myself the person I thought I should be, instead of the person that I am or even who I want to be.

Leave a Reply

