My second new recipe adventure…

Today I made Cozy Butternut, Sweet Potato and Red Lentil Stew (http://ohsheglows.com/2016/11/23/cozy-butternut-sweet-potato-and-red-lentil-stew/ ) .  This is my second recipe from www.ohsheglows.com and I really enjoyed it.  Angela Lidden included some fun facts about lentils and pulses in her post along with the recipe.  I had no idea that lentils are pulses, and that pulses are called “pulses”, and how predominant Canada is in farming them.  Sweet!

I used spinach instead of chard like she recommended as a substitution.  I also couldn’t find light coconut milk, so I used regular coconut milk.  It upped the Weight Watchers points by quite a bit, so in the future, I might use less of it, or look harder for the light stuff.  If anyone has any recommendations of a substitute, I would love to know.  Maybe Greek yogurt if you’re eating dairy?  Would soft tofu work?  I haven’t worked with that before…

I prepared the recipe earlier in the day and refrigerated it so that when I got home from my soccer game, I could just pop it in the microwave and eat, instead of waiting around for it to cook.  I put it over rice, and topped it with cilantro.  If you eat dairy, I could see putting a dollop of plain yogurt on top.

The flavour of this recipe was fantastic.  It reminded me of a decent curry that you would get at a restaurant, except you know exactly what’s in it, you can make it in the comfort of your own home, it costs a fraction of the price, and it makes A LOT!  I broke it down into 9 servings.  This would be good if you were having people over who like a curry flavour in their food.  It’s not too hot (you could add hot sauce if you want some heat), only spicy and I will definitely make this again.  I could see adding some red peppers, eggplant, or maybe some peas.

My new goal is to try a new recipe each week.  I have been really bored with my rotation, and I want to mix it up.  I was following a formula for a while, and it did very each time, but I’m still in the mood to try new things.  Being new to this vegetarian thing makes if very important to find and try new things.  Angela Lidden is a new savior of mine.  Thank you, Angela!!

I’ve bookmarked some other recipes I’d like to try.  I might try one with eggplant next…

Leave a Reply

