Butternut Squash Mac & Cheeze

20170325_174715.jpg

So this weekend I tried a vegan Mac & Cheeze recipe from ohsheglows.com (surprise, surprise…).  The recipe can be found at:  http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/03/butternut-squash-mac-n-cheeze/

I have to admit, I did a few things differently.  I added some nutmeg because that’s an ingredient I love in regular mac and cheese.  I also added some Sriracha for a bit of extra kick.  I ground up some cashews to top it off with some paprika.  I also used broccoli and cauliflower as an add-in.  I also baked it for about 45 minutes at 350 (I think).

I cooked with nutritional yeast for the first time, and that was interesting.  I had no idea that this amazing ingredient existed until I started researching plant based diets.  The stuff worked great and gave the sauce a texture that was just like real mac and cheese.

Because I added about 2 cups of broccoli and cauliflower, the servings were a pretty decent size, which is awesome for me because I love to eat, and I love big portions.  The end result was a very delicious, filling meal that I believe to be low in fat.   The WW points were not too excessive, which is fine with me for such a satisfying meal.

My boyfriend ate it and had seconds, instead of his regular fried egg sandwich that he eats if he doesn’t like what I cooked.  He didn’t not like it, so in my mind, it’s a win.

I will definitely make this meal again.

 

Leave a Reply

