March 25th’s declutter and weekend activities

I was up to some good stuff this weekend.  I sold the bookcase that I put on my workplace kijiji!!  It is gone now.  I hope the family I sold it to will enjoy it.  It is exactly what they were looking for.  I’m just scared that they will come back to me wanting their money back like someone else I sold something to did.  I haven’t heard anything yet, so I’m crossing my fingers that I won’t.  That other situation kind of ruined my kijiji self-esteem.

On another note, I finally finished decluttering the kitchen cabinets!!  What an accomplishment.  I tuned into Grace and Frankie on Netflix, and went to town on the final cupboards that were neglected before.  It was more of an organization kick, but some things did go in the garbage/recycling.  I had a Smart Spin hiding on a shelf, and I don’t tend to use the containers very much.  I have a few Rubbermaid, Tupperware and Anchor containers that I use (I have just the right number too, it’s awesome).  My secret you ask?  I bought the right number in the first place, and they are well organized in one drawer.  I don’t have room for more, so I have never purchased more.  Sometimes I run out and find myself having to shift things around a bit, but it means that they have never been cluttered.  I also don’t buy more.  When they go on sale sometimes I think “oh, that would be so nice to have”, but then I tell myself: “NO!”  This has been going on for years, and I’ve stayed strong.

Anyway, I decided that since the Bulk Barn now lets you bring your own containers, I would start using the Smart Spin containers there.  I don’t need the part that spins, so I’m getting rid of that.  They take up way less space when they are stacked.  I put the larger containers in my car trunk so that next time I go to the Bulk Barn, I can use the containers.  I’ve decided that I should start going to the Bulk Barn for as many things as possible to avoid excess packaging.

The kitchen feels so much better now.  I cleaned out the fridge and there is actually empty space in the cupboards.  I’m beginning to practice the idea of “just because I have space, it doesn’t mean that I have to fill it up.”  It’s funny because about a year ago, we organized the basement storage room with shelving units.  It’s funny how if that room was half the size, I would probably have half the stuff in it.  We as human beings tend to fill space with stuff.  I did this with the book cases that I bought last year too.  The book I’m reading The Joy of Less, A Minimalist Living Guide: How to Declutter, Organize and Simplify Your Life, by Francine Jay hits the nail on the head with this situation.

I soaked, and cooked black beans, roasted a butternut squash and froze them in portions on Saturday.  I’m finding that you don’t always need a full squash for recipes, and they can be expensive, so I might as well always keep some ready in the freezer.  I like to have basic ingredients for recipes handy at all times, so that I can just whip something together whenever I feel like it.  I try to plan my weekly meals in advance, so if something comes up, I don’t end up in a pinch.

I’ve eaten vegetarian and mostly vegan for the last 2 weeks, with the exception of some bacon bits that my sister snuck into my salad last weekend and daily fish oil that I’m using up (once it’s gone, I will switch to a vegan Omega-3 supplement).  My boyfriend asked me if I’m skipping right over vegetarian and going straight to vegan.  I really don’t know what I’m doing.  I feel like it’s a big thing telling people what I’m doing (and it really shouldn’t be), so I’m telling the most understanding people first.  I told my boyfriend’s sister about it (she’s one of the coolest, most understanding, ethical people I know), and she started listing a bunch of labels to try to define what I’m doing.  I just cut her off and said “NO LABELS, I don’t want to give myself any labels, this is what it is.  I don’t know where I’ll end up.”

So far my skin is clearing up.  It wasn’t bad to begin with, but I had some whiteheads around my eyes, and they have gone away now.  I can’t say if I feel more energetic.  I used my scale that tells me my body fat percentage and the number of pounds of fat I have on me.  The pounds of fat are coming down, which is awesome, because it shows that I’m losing fat and not muscle.  In fact, I’m putting on muscle.  I’ll take it!

So that’s pretty much it for the weekend.  Lifestyle and declutter.  I hope I can keep this ball rolling.  I’m finally feeling like I’m out of the funk.

Leave a Reply

